Secrets Out, And Here’s The Truth…

Her eyes were wide and heart was out on the table.

She said, “I wasn’t expecting this conversation to be this honest. It’s good though.”

May I be the first to just point out that social media only projects our good?

When I do my morning scroll through Instagram I look less like the pictures that I’m double tapping and more like a barbie doll that was shaken around till her hair got all ratty.

While I do love to scroll mindlessly through social media, personally I have to do a heart check to see if I’m comparing myself to unreal standards.

For me with social media I get this idea that I have to be perfect too like the people in the pictures. When meeting with friends I’m tempted to hide behind excuses. To say things like I’m fine, and everything is great.

Isn’t it easy to just hide behind a false image?

Because what if you’re looked down on for being less than perfect? 

What if you fall short of the standard?

Dear friend, I’d like to encourage you this week to be honest with the people around you. To be honest, real, and vulnerable. 

That can be so, so scary especially if you have been hurt in previous relationships but dear friend, as a Christian we have to invest our time, and ourselves into community with others. Doing life with them.

Hebrews 10:23-25

“Let us hold tightly without wavering to the hope we affirm, for God can be trusted to keep his promise. Let us think of ways to motivate one another to acts of love and good works. And let us not neglect meeting together, as some people do, but encourage one another, especially now that the day of his return is drawing near.”

So friends, I’d like to encourage you this week to get honest with a friend.

If things have been less than glamorous in your life lately. If you’ve been feeling alone, less than, or left out. Reach out to the Lord and have him meet you where you are.

Thanks for reading.

Have a blessed week!

 xo, Sarena

Leave a Reply

